Topic: How to Start Singing

If I am a solo artist, and believe me I would love to be in a band, but I don't think that will work right now, ...how do I perform live?  I play no instruments, so I cannot imagine how to start singing.  I would look and feel too stupid with just myself and a microphone trying to win fans in a nightclub or bar.  What equipment should I have just for show?  Also, I have original produced songs but only about six.  I could play a rythm shaker or some kind of instrument but I do not read music at all nor will I ever understand notes, but also, I am a dancer, so I can definately wow a crowd and even have choreographed routines with dancers.  I want to travel other places and I have a very good look.  Please be serious when you answer me.  I am female.

Re: How to Start Singing

I am a singing teacher and performer myself. 

It can be a very difficult thing to get started in live performance but there are a few things I can tell you which may help.

Firstly, you have to be very prepared with your act, know what material you are doing and present that very well.

You sound like a creative person, so you need to be creative in the way you think about getting yourself started. 

Have you thought about starting  your own project.  It would be a good idea to find someone to work with instead of going it alone too.

When I first started, I loved singing jazz, so I got a project together with another singer and we found ourselves a pianist, worked out the songs and started gigging anywhere we could.  Our first experience was in retirement homes but we soon found ourselves in bars and clubs.

If you do want to sing, I would advise getting yourself some lessons.

Find a teacher you feel comfortable and relaxed with.  There are all sorts of singing teachers out there but what I can say is, singing has a lot to do with the way you feel about yourself, so find someone you feel comfortable to talk to.