Topic: Newbie connection question

I'm a lead guitarist who does backing vocals.  I ordered the Voicelive Rack and it will be here in a couple of days.  I've gone through the manual, and I'm sure I can figure out at least one way to hook everything up, but I'd like to get advice on the best way (or if there's something I'm overlooking).

We use a Presonus Studiolive 16.4.2 mixer.  I use a Line 6 Relay G90 wireless system for my guitar and a Fractal Audio Axe FX II for guitar effects, etc.

I'm planning on running my mic into the mixer channel's mic in, then using an insert cable from the mixer's insert with a TS send to the Voicelive's 1/4" Line input and a TS return to the Voicelive's Left 1/4" output. 

Then I plan to send the guitar's wireless first through the guitar in on the VL and then the VL's guitar thru to my Axe FX II.

I'm expecting that levels will be controlled by the the fader on that channel of my mixer and that there will be no latency or change of tone caused by the VL on  my guitar (and that if I mute the Axe FX II, I can still play volumeless chords that will effect harmonies on the VL).

Do I have all of this straight?  Is this the best way to hook things up?  I apologize in advance for what is probably pretty simple stuff. There's one extra channel on the mixer and one extra bus if I need them. 

Thanks!

Re: Newbie connection question

Hiya WSheehey,

Yep that sounds like a good plan to me. The pre-amp in the VL-Rack is quite good, so you may find that you don't have to run it as an insert and can use it as a dedicated vocal channel, Mic in to the Rack and then Stereo Out to your mixer.

You can use the MP-75 to control stuff right from the stage.