June 30th, 2009 | by VoiceCouncil

Throat Coat Tea Review

Review of Reviews

We’ve studied the most important product reviews so you don’t have to.

ThroatReviewwhite

Type:

Herbal Dietary Supplement.

Item: Throat Coat Tea

USD $4.39 – $5.49 for 16 bags
GBP £2.78 – £2.95 for 20 bags

Mic Scale

At a Glance: Throat Coat Tea is a traditional slippery elm and liquorice tea with hints of orange, peppermint and cinnamon. The makers, Traditional Medicinals, promote Throat Coat as a Herbal Dietary Supplement which has been put through rigorous testing and a published clinical study. However, the manufacturer’s claims for the efficacy of such products are still questioned by many healthcare professionals. For more info and useful advice on Herbal Dietary Supplements Click Here

High Notes: VoiceCouncil failed to find a single review giving this product less than a 4/5 rating. Many reviewers said they loved the taste and appreciated the fact that it’s caffeine free. You can also get an organic version.

Off Pitch: As Throat Coat Tea is classed as a Herbal Dietary Supplement containing pharmacopoeial grade herbs (a ‘medicinal’ rather than a ‘food’ grade of herb), you should check out the manufacturer’s advice prior to use… Check this out.

A VoiceCouncil Vocalist Says: I also use Throat Coat Tea if I start to get a cold to help soothe my throat, and organic Elderberry Immune system booster supplements if I feel a really nasty cold coming on :) Works great for me!

More: Reviewers were pretty much unanimous in their love of the product. The singers who praised Throat Coat Tea for its ability to prolong their singing were a pretty diverse bunch including high school choirs, heavy rock bands and professional opera singers.

See Other Reviews

Manufacturers Website

Throat Coat Tea Review 1

Throat Coat Tea Review 2

Throat Coat Tea Review 3

Throat Coat Tea Review 4

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)

Throat Coat Tea Review, 8.6 out of 10 based on 31 ratings

Share This Article:

  • Chip

    Throat coat tea is discusting and anyone that truly understands whats best for singers, would NEVER recommend throat coat tea.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • danechalfin

    Nothing your eat or drink every comes into contact with the vocal folds. Teas, sprays, lozenges etc can only ease symptoms (and whether they do that or it's just placebo is worthy of debate!) in the pharynx (throat). Claims that teas can increase vocal longevity are without merit and physiologically impossible.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • garymckinney

    There may be two things going on here which makes tea beneficial — the soothing effect and the placebo effect.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • pavarotti

    works every time!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Dale lol

    and you're an idiot

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Michelle

    the very first time i used this tea, my throat physically felt different – slippery. it was disconcerting. but since then, either that doesn’t happen any more or I’m just used to it. i have this at least once or twice a week – I currently rehearse with a band three times a week and sing a lot of high chest-voice stuff that’s hard to hit. i battle with confidence issues too so anything that i “think” will give me an edge is good for me in the long run.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/lisa.rose.starner Lisa Rose Starner

    The tea should physically *feel* slippery. The herbs of marshmallow and licorice root, as well as wild cherry bark contain a mucilage and when dissolved in water actually take on a slippery texture. These are the key ingredients that moisturizes the inflamed tissues and soothes the irritation.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pharrigan428

    Over three years ago I have been diagnosed with larangitis caused by acid reflux.  I was given medication, which was only temporary.  Three months ago, at a herbal store, I came across Throat Coat Tea and decided to try it.  Amazing, I was mainly attracted to the sweet taste left in my mouth whithout adding any sugar. However, soon realized that after singing for a long time, there was no hoarsness, as was accustom.  Thank God for Thoat Coat. 

    Rose

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • hattonhall

    What can I do….I already have a “Throat Coat” of mucous which just keeps on being formed and coming. I have to keep on continuously trying to “Clear my throat” which badly interferes with attempting to sing. An ENT speciallst had a look down my throat using a fibreoptic scope he put up my nose!  For $125 I was told I had the “Hay Fever”  which I already knew about.  He prescribed a Cortisone based nasal spray……….but I dont want to morph into anything or produce unwanted appendages by continuosly using that sort of stuff !

    Will a “Cuppa” of this brew fix my problem……….that’s what I want to know!
    Has anyone out there got the same problem as I and have tried “Throat Coat” and got a cure???

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • guest

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12804082

    Bam, read it an weep.  Scientific evidence.  Not denying the placebo effect, but having used this tea many times I pretty strongly believe it’s actually effective.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • guest

    Actually, that may not be a reliable journal… perhaps I should have been so quick about that.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • guest

    and I can’t type, shouldn’t*

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hmvatenor

    I tried this for the 1st time yesterday, before a performance with my (female) barbershop quartet.  Our lead singer is recovering from a sinus infection/cough so we all had a cup.  I never sang better!  I’ve been singing for years & take care of my voice but I do have some sinus problems & post nasal drip which irritates my throat.  This has been recommended by other singers & I think it worked wonderfully.  I’ll have to try it again to be sure but I was very happy with how soothed & relaxed & not dry my throat felt.  It tasted good, too!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Hmvatenor

    I have a similar problem.  I have sinus congestion & post nasal drip & often my throat feels dry & sometimes irritated.  I sing at church & in a quartet & a chorus.  Yesterday, before a performance I tried Throat Coat for the 1st time & I was amazed at how comfortable I felt singing.  I didn’t once feel as though I had to cough or clear my throat.  I’ll have to try it again, but I was very happy with the result & the taste.  Fellow singers have recommended this over the yrs & I’m glad I finally tried it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Tori Thompson

    While of course the respiratory and gastrointestinal tubes  are two different pieces of body equipment, there is something that can be said for teas and their effectiveness of easing bronchial/voicebox problems. For one, when you drink tea, you breath in (i.e. touching the vocal chords) the tea in steam form. Steam contains tiny particles of the herbs and spices that are in the tea, and thus touch the voicebox, in the same way that when you clean with harsh chemicals such as ammonia, bleach, or pine sol, you breath in the “vapors” of the chemicals and it makes you cough sometimes. For two, things put into the digestive system affect the rest of the body. If you swallow cough syrup, it “never comes into contact with the vocal folds”, but, the medicine in the syrup gets absorbed into the bloodstream during digestion and through the mucous membranes of the esophagus, and eventually affects production of mucous. If you swallow an herbal tea, the same thing will happen:  the good stuff in the tea will get absorbed into the bloodstream, and will eventually circulate to the vocal chords (they need blood too).

    I am always surprised at people who tought “modern medicine” and pills as being fantastic but laugh at herbal remedies. Aspirin comes from a plant, you know, and penicillin used to come from bread.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • neurogirl

    I hate licorice & typically hate the taste of any of the natural herbs that have been suggested to me by many. However, that being said, my daughter convinced me to try this tea when I had a very sore throat due to a cold. I hated the taste, but before I finished half of the cup – my throat felt so much better. And, unlike lozenges & the like, it lasted for more than 5 minutes. I’d say it lasted close to an hour. That is incredible to me. The next time I tried it – due to a cold and only out of desperation because I hate the taste – I added natural vitamin C crystals, lemon & honey. It was still gross to me, but better than by itself & I still got relief.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • CSHM99

    THROAT COAT TEA HAS 750 MILLIGRAMS OF LICORICE ROOT WHICH HAS BEEN PROVEN TO CAUSE HEART RYTHEM PROBLEMS,,AND MIGHT BE IMPLICATED IN MY DEVELOPING ATRIAL FIBRILLATION…especially as i was drinking 3-5 cups a day for at least one year….ALL SINGERS MUST BE EXTREMELY CAREFUL ESPECIALLY PEOPLE WHO HAVE EXISTING HEART PROBLEMS

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • andres

    hey it says 6 cups daily ubt for real howmany cups u have to drink every day?
    i have the same problem that you have!!can you tell me how are you using it? i bought 96 tea bags and any advice from you would me apprecieted

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Guest

    I’m a professional classical singer and I love Throat Coat. I personally hate the taste of licorice and I think that Throat Coat tastes disgusting, but once I get it down, my throat feels amazing. It truly helps.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Scott

    Did you know “Clearing your throat” actually sends a signal to the brain to produce more mucus.  Trying to clear your throat is very bad for the vocal chords and does not solve the problem.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Emilylengriffin

    I love throat coat. I don’t drink it that often. Mainly just when I’m sick and loosing my voice. It does wonders. Just add some honey and ginger and is a singers/ public speakers best friend.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Jeanne

    I’m a retired RN clssically trained singer,singing mainly Broadway/Jazz.The Florida AC for 7 mos. dries the throat. I prefer the Organic Lemon Echinacea Throat Coat Tea with a small dollop of honey. It taste very good. Jeanne

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    If I were marketing it I would have called it “Froatcote” as I am familiar with “Fracturing me froat” when trying to sing in five voices including that of 3 voluptuous, sultry, yet vocally gifted young ladies..(one of my lesser known talents).
    However as me Mam, (a former Diva and legend in her own mind in her own lifetime) allus sed tah me……”Shtick a teaspoon ‘o honey in yah cuppa tea along with a wee nip o’ brandy ….and yah can sing all day long without a frog in yah froat” !

    Maybe I should try putting one in me froat to see if I can “Croak” better when I really want to LOLOLOLOLOL !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    So that helped you sort of “Nip it in the tonsils” so to speak ?

    Female Barbershop? Hey come on…….that should be “Unisex Clippers” to be hypothitopopoliticacally proper or what not should it not?

    What was all that BB pro-activism of the 60′s all about?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    Oh my gawd!……Bang! there goes the share price on that one then!

    Some told me that I was without merit and physiologically impossible.
    But I took a placebo for it.
    Now, I am psychologically impossible, merit overloaded and broke!

    Heck……I’m gonna have a cuppa and a Tim-Tam and ponder my navel!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    Thankyou for getting my daughter to waste one of my A4 pages copying and pasting your text!
    I promise I will never again laugh at herbal remedies!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    You might like to ask the makers to add
    “A concoction for None But the Brave !”

    to the label on the bottle!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • http://www.facebook.com/poppa.madison Poppa Madison

    In all seriousness, I just had open heart surgery two months back…….and I was just about to place my order when I saw your post!

    My heart is going boop! diddy boop! diddy boop! diddy boop! and I want it to remain that way.

    So now it has to be a “No” to this Elixir from me!

    Thankyou number 99 !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Olie

    I have been singing for Royal Caribbean for years and have just discovered throat coat, it certainly doesnt help me sing any better but definitely helps me keep my vocal health up, i can sing for a lot longer without getting tired which is great. 5 out of 5 stars here.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • RJ Hall Singer

    In the uk its about £7 a box of 16 which is expensive but it does work i still prefer sandersons after 3 days of solid rock and pop cover singing at the high speeds the muttz knuttz do everything sandersons works better for me

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • DampenedSquid

    The packaging for the tea has a warning to people with heart concerns or who are taking medication to address heart concerns on both the box and the individual packets. They do a good job of warning people who have existing problems in these areas. The ingredients list and other product information can be found here:

    http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/product/throat-coat-reg

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • acjones

    does it have to be hot to work?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • acjones

    how do you use it? Does it need to be the last thing you drink before singing?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)